Committees of Council

>>>Committees of Council
Committees of Council2016-12-16T13:29:05+10:00

Committees of Parkes Shire Council

We establish special committees to make decisions about certain functions of Council under delegated authority

The Local Government Act 1993 empowers Parkes Shire Council to establish special committees of the Council and delegate certain powers, duties and functions to those committees. All committee meetings are open to the public, and residents and ratepayers are welcome to attend.

Council Committees - Councillor Only 2015/2016

There are five formal committees of Council that meet regularly to discuss a range of issues, applications and proposals. Councillor Only Committees are as follows:

  • Parkes Heated Pool Planning Committee
  • Parkes Shire Library Committee
  • Plant Procurement and Replacement Committee
  • Road Naming Committee
  • Senior Staff Committee

Section 355 Committees 2015/2016

Under Section 355 of the Local Government Act 1993, Council is able to delegate some of its functions to a committee of Council. Council refers to these Community Management Committees as Section 355 Committees. Membership of these committees is open to any member of the public who wishes to participate. Section 355 Committees are as follows:

  • Elvis Festival Committee
  • Henry Parkes Tourism Complex Committee
  • Little Theatre Management Committee
  • Parkes Sports Council

Council Committee - Councillors with Invited Community 2015/2016

Council staff, Councillors and community representatives are involved in a range of working parties and sub-committees that meet to discuss a range of community issues and Council projects. Councillors with Invited Community Committees are as follows:

  • Access Committee
  • Economic Development Committee  - Airport Development Sub-Committee
  • Heritage Advisory Committee
  • Elders Advisory Committee
  • Parkes Pool Management Committee
  • Parkes Traffic Committee
  • Risk Review Committee
  • Sporting Facilities Development Committee
  • Waste Facilities Committee

For further details on Council Committees, membership and meeting schedules, contact the office of the Mayor on 02 6861 2303.


Newsletter Signup

Stay up to date with Parkes Shire Council by subscribing to our Newsletter.