Key departments and contact information

Parkes Shire Council’s organisational structure is designed to deliver efficient, high quality services to the community

Parkes Shire Council is structured into four operational departments, in addition to the Office of the General Manager. These departments include:

  • Customer, Corporate Services & Economy
  • Operations
  • Infrastructure & Strategic Futures
  • Planning & Community Services

An organisation structure chart of Parkes Shire Council can be found here.

Office of the General Manager

The Office of the General Manager is responsible for overseeing all functions of Council, including Mayoral and Councillor activities and appointments, corporate strategy, community engagement, governance, records and business improvement.

To contact the Office of the General Manager, phone (02) 6861 2303.

Kent Boyd PSM

Mr Kent Boyd, PSM

General Manager

Council's Senior Management Team is led by the General Manager, Kent Boyd.

Kent commenced employment at Parkes Shire Council in 1992 as a Design Engineer and held the position of Director Infrastructure since 2001. He was appointed General Manager Parkes Shire Council on 1 November 2010 and is a strong advocate of long-term strategic planning.

Kent has a Bachelor of Civil Engineering (First Class Hons), a Graduate Diploma in Management, an MBA, Masters of Government and Commercial Law and is a graduate of the Institute of Company Directors. He has worked both in the public and private sector.

Kent’s professional affiliations include, CPEng NPER-3, Fellow Engineers Australia, Fellow IPWEA, Member APESMA, Member AWA, Member IWA, Member Red R Aust, Graduate Member of the Australian Institute of Company Directors and a Member of the Local Government Managers Australia.

Customer, Corporate Services & Economy

This Department is responsible for economic development and grants, communications and engagement, corporate governance, destination marketing and events, human resources, information and communication technology, integrated planning and reporting, and work health and safety.

To contact the Department of Customer, Corporate Services and Economy, phone (02) 6861 2333.

Cian Middleton

Mr Cian Middleton

Director Customer, Corporate Services & Economy

Cian Middleton joined Parkes Shire Council in January 2022, bringing over 10 years' experience in the local government sector to his role as Director Customer, Corporate Services and Economy.

Prior to joining Parkes Shire Council, Cian was the Director Corporate and Community Services at Liverpool Plains Shire Council in the New England, which saw him leading a diverse portfolio spanning corporate governance, financial, human resources, community and recreation services, ICT and customer service.  Cian commenced his local government career at Whitsunday Regional Council in north Queensland in 2012, and subsequently held positions at Uralla Shire Council and Edward River Council, both in rural New South Wales.

Cian holds a Bachelor of Arts and Bachelor of Laws from the University of Adelaide, a Graduate Certificate in Human Resource Management from RMIT University, a Master of Legal Practice from the Australian National University and a Master of Business Administration from the University of New England.  He has also completed his Certificate in Engagement through the Institute of Public Participation Australasia.

An active member of LG Professionals Australia NSW, Cian currently serves as Secretary of the association's Governance Executive.

Planning & Community Services

This Department carries out regulatory functions in relation to environmental control, planning public health, development and waste control.

To contact the Department of Planning and Community Services phone (02) 6861 2373.

Brendan Hayes

Mr Brendan Hayes 

Director Planning & Community Services

Brendan was the Director Environmental Services Department at Weddin Shire Council and was responsible for the direct strategic and operational management and financial control of all certification, development approval, strategic planning, food shop inspections, building maintenance, heritage assessment, compliance and waste control.

Brendan has over 30 years of Local Government experience and holds qualifications in Urban and Regional Planning, Local Government Management, Applied Sciences and is also an A1 Accredited Certifier.


Works & Services

This Department is responsible for the construction and maintenance of roads, bridges, parks and gardens, airports, swimming pools, quarries, road safety and emergency management. The Director of Engineering Services also oversees Council's Asset Management and Design Services.

To contact the Department of Engineering Services, phone (02) 6861 2343.

Ben Howard

Mr Ben Howard

Director Operations

Ben Howard has been with Parkes Shire Council since 2008, firstly as the Manager Works, and as the Director Works & Services since March 2015. His portfolio covers the areas of roads, parks and gardens, sporting fields, design, assets, swimming pools, airports, fleet management, stores, and emergency management.

Ben has tertiary qualifications in Engineering, Project Management and Training. He started in local government in 1998 as a cadet engineer with Bathurst Regional Council and has also worked with the former Yarrowlumla Shire Council, now known as Palerang Council and Blayney Shire Council. Ben has also spent over 12 months working overseas in Scotland consulting to Stirling City Council.

Ben is currently an active member of Institute of Engineers Australia, IPWEA and APESMA.


This Department is responsible for the Natural Resource Management including noxious weeds, storm water, soil and vegetation conservation, sewerage scheme operations and water supply operations. The Department also ensures that the current and future needs of the Parkes Shire are met in relation to Council's Infrastructure and Major Projects. A current major project is the construction of a new Water Treatment Plant and Sewage Treatment Plant.

To contact the Department of Operations and Infrastructure, phone (02) 6861 2343.

Andrew Francis

Mr Andrew Francis

Director Infrastructure & Strategic Futures

Andrew Francis has been with Parkes Shire Council since 2005, moving on to the role of Manager Natural Resources in 2007. He has held the position of Director Infrastructure since March 2015 and in this role is responsible for Council’s Water, Sewer and Stormwater services, and management of the natural environment including noxious weeds, sustainability and emergency management.

Andrew has tertiary training in Bioprocess and Environmental Engineering, WHS, Project Management and Training and Assessment.

Andrew was the inaugural chair of the CENTROC Water Utilities Alliance when the entity formed in 2010 and has held the role since that time. He has served as Secretary and Chair of the Central West IPWEA Group, is an active member of Engineers Australia, the Australian Water Association and the Local Government Engineers Association.