Nominations Now Open For 2024 Australia Day Awards

Published on 24 October 2023


Nominations are now open for the 2024 Parkes Shire Council Community, Cultural and Sports Awards.

The Parkes Shire Australia Day Awards are a great opportunity to recognize and acknowledge the hardworking members of Parkes Shire, and to thank them for their tireless efforts either for the community, their cultural pursuits or sporting endeavours.

Each town in the Shire recognises locals and events at their own Australia Day ceremony each year, but awards can also be included in the Parkes ceremony.

This year the Australia Day Committee has created a new Community Award to recognise Lifetime Achievement, in addition to the Citizen of the Year Award.

Mayor of Parkes Shire, Councillor Neil Westcott said, "Part of what makes our community so great are the many incredible people making outstanding contributions to the Parkes Shire each day."

"The Australia Day Awards allow us to recognise the efforts and achievements of members of our community and thank them for helping to make the Parkes Shire such a wonderful place to live," said Cr Westcott.

Manager Cultural Education and Library Services, Kerryn Jones said, "The Cultural Awards celebrate and showcase the artistic and creative talent that we have in the Parkes Shire."

"I strongly encourage community members to nominate individuals or groups as a recognition of their efforts in the past year," she added.

Nomination forms for the Australia Day Awards should be submitted online or are available on paper at Parkes Shire Council administration reception, Parkes Shire Library and Henry Parkes Centre.

Nomination applications close on Friday 8 December 2023 at 5pm.

For more information about each of the awards, or to nominate an individual or group, visit the Australia Day Awards Scheme page.


Community Awards

The Community Awards recognise members of the community who have gone above and beyond, and who have made an outstanding community contribution in the past year. This year, the Australia Day Committee has also introduced a new award recognising outstanding contribution to the Parkes Community over many years. Nominations can be made in the following categories:

  • Citizen of the Year Award
  • Young Citizen of the Year Award (18 years and under)
  • Community Event of the Year Award
  • Community Lifetime Achievement Award

This year, two Community Awards will also recognise efforts to support and preserve the environment within the local community and contribution to a sustainable future in the following categories: 

  • Environmental Citizen of the Year Award (open age)
  • Environmental Citizen of the Year Award (school age)

Cultural Awards

The Cultural Awards recognise, reward and encourage excellence in the performing, literary, visual and creative arts and crafts. These awards are intended for individuals or groups who have made an outstanding achievement or who are offering support and encouragement in the following categories:

  • Performance Award
  • Literacy Award
  • Visual Arts Award
  • Cultural Lifetime Achievement Award

Sporting Awards

The Sporting Awards recognise an outstanding Parkes Shire Sports person or team in the following categories:

  • Sports Person of the Year
  • Junior Sports Person of the Year
  • Team of the Year
  • Coach/Trainer/Manager of the Year
  • Referee/Umpire/Official of the Year
  • Senior Sports Person or Team of the Year
  • Administrator of the Year
  • Long Service and Dedication Award


If you have any questions or enquiries about the awards and/or nominations process, please contact:

• Community Awards - Jenny Kingham - 0409 631 165

• Cultural Awards - Kerryn Jones - 0428 709 467

• Sports Awards - Anthony McGrath - 0418 477 823


Tagged as: