Our Councillors

Parkes Shire Council is a statutory corporation established under the Local Government Act 1993.  The Councillors, meeting as the Council, are the governing body of the corporation and are responsible for directing and controlling the affairs of Council in accordance with the Act.

Our governing body comprises 10 Councillors, who are popularly elected by eligible residents and ratepayers at Local Government elections held every four years.  All Councillors are elected to represent the entire Parkes Shire local government area, rather than individual wards.

The Mayor and Deputy Mayor are chosen by the Councillors and elected for a two-year term.

Councillors make decisions on all key matters at Council meetings, which are open to the public.  Members of the public can also apply to address Council meetings.

State and Federal Representation

State Member for Orange

Mr Philip (Phil) Donato MP

Electorate Office
123 Byng Street
Orange NSW 2800

Telephone: (02) 6362 5199

Email: orange@parliament.nsw.gov.au

District of Orange Map(PDF, 3MB)

Federal Member for Riverina

The Hon. Michael McCormack MP

Electorate Office
207A Clarinda Street
Parkes NSW 2870

Telephone: (02) 6862 4560

Email: Michael.McCormack.MP@aph.gov.au 

Division of Riverina Map(PDF, 22MB)