Parkes Shire Councillors

Your elected representatives work for you

Councillors are your elected representatives for the Parkes Shire. They advocate on behalf of residents and work to assist them. Councillors are responsible for managing the Shire's assets, providing a wide range of services and facilities, and ensuring finances are allocated in the best interests of the whole community.


Under the Local Government Act 1993 council elections are held on the second Saturday in September every four years. By-elections are conducted periodically when a councillor vacancy occurs.Parkes Shire Council is made up of 10 councillors, one of whom is the Mayor.The position of Mayor and Deputy Mayor is elected by Councillors and serves a one year term.The NSW Electoral Commission held local Council elections for the Parkes Shire on Saturday, 10 September 2016.



Cr Ken Keith OAM (Mayor)

Mayor - First elected in 1983, serving 11th term on Council


Cr Barbara Newton (Deputy Mayor)

Deputy Mayor - Elected 2004, serving forth term on Council.


Cr Alan Ward

Councillor - First elected 2008, serving third term on Council


Cr George Pratt

Councillor - Elected 2004, serving fourth term on Council


Cr Ken McGrath

Councillor - First elected in 1992, serving sixth term on Council


Cr Louise O'Leary

Councillor - First elected in 2008, serving third term on Council


Cr Patrica Smith

Councillor - Elected 2008, serving third term on Council


Cr William Jayet

Councillor - First elected 2016, serving first term on Council

Niel Wescot

Cr Neil Westcott

Councillor - First elected in 2016, serving first term on Council


Cr Wally Biles

Councillor - First elected 2016, serving first term on Council