Country Mayors Association NSW

Parkes Shire Council is an active member of the Country Mayors Association of NSW (CMA), with our Mayor, Cr Ken Keith OAM, and General Manager, Mr Kent Boyd PSM, currently serving as the association's Chairman and Secretary/Public Officer, respectively.

The CMA represents almost 70 rural and coastal councils across New South Wales, the equivalent of about three quarters of the state in land mass, proving to be a formidable force in advocating for local government and issues that affect their communities.

The CMA allows local government from rural and regional NSW to come together to discuss issues of specific interest, to areas outside the major metropolitan centres as well as looking at the bigger picture of the whole local government sector within the state.

Some of the key priorities for the CMA is looking at converting waste to energy, improving roads, attracting country doctors and investing in new technologies.

The CMA Executive Committee currently comprises:

  • Cr Ken Keith OAM, Parkes Shire Council - Chairman
  • Cr Jamie Chaffey, Gunnedah Shire Council - Deputy Chairman
  • Cr Craig Davies, Narromine Shire Council
  • Cr Rick Firman OAM, Temora Shire Council
  • Cr Russel Fitzpatrick, Bega Valley Shire Council
  • Cr John Medcalf OAM, Lachlan Shire Council
  • Cr Phyllis Miller OAM, Forbes Shire Council
  • Cr Sue Moore, Singleton Council
  • Cr Kylie Thomas, Kyogle Council
  • Cr Russell Webb, Tamworth Regional Council

Meeting Minutes

Media Releases